Active substance glycerine – harmful or harmless?

Glycerin – a word that ranks high in the list of ingredients for many cosmetic products and should, therefore, be familiar to many – even if it is not really clear to most people what exactly is behind this ingredient and how it affects the body. But is glycerine harmful to the skin, the hair and the organism or is it safe to use products containing glycerine? And how exactly is it with glycerin in cosmetics? We would like to get to the bottom of these and other questions about the active ingredient glycerin in the following guide.

 

What exactly is glycerin and how is it produced?


Glycerin is a body’s own substance that belongs to our skin’s own moisturizing system. The question of whether glycerin is dangerous for the body can be answered with a “no”. In fact, the active ingredient Glycerin is indispensable for our skin, in particular: It binds moisture, stabilizes the skin barrier and sometimes ensures that no harmful substances penetrate the skin. Glycerine is released in the body during the hydrolysis of the skin’s own lipids and thus reaches the outer skin layer. Chemically speaking, glycerine belongs to the trivalent alcohols and is often referred to as sugar alcohol because of its sweet taste.

Apart from the body’s own glycerine, the active ingredient can also be obtained synthetically. A distinction is made here between conventional and vegetable glycerin, whereby quality and environmental impact during production are the main aspects of the distinction:

  • Conventional glycerin is usually a synthetic active ingredient obtained from crude oil processing and thus also pollutes the environment in its production.
  • Plant glycerin, on the other hand, is produced by splitting vegetable and animal fats and is, for example, a by-product of biodiesel production. For use in cosmetics or pharmaceuticals, however, the glycerol must subsequently be further processed, which is why the higher-quality, so-called pharmaceutical glycerol, is considerably more expensive than the conventionally produced starting product. It should be noted that vegetable glycerine is generally more environmentally friendly than synthetic glycerine, but vegetable glycerine is often obtained from palm oil. This means that extensive plantations are created for its production, which has to give way to large rainforest areas.

In addition, natural cosmetic products, in particular, advertise the use of so-called Bio Glycerin. This is vegetable glycerine from controlled biological origin, which is processed under the same qualitative conditions as the pharmaceutical glycerine mentioned above. Accordingly, the price is slightly higher than that of conventional glycerine or vegetable glycerine derived from palm oil.

 

How does glycerin work and why is it needed?


Glycerin HumidityGlycerin is above all a moisturizer. Like a mini magnet, the active ingredient attracts and retains moisture. This property is indispensable for our skin, as it needs at least 20 percent moisture to remain elastic and maintain a healthy, radiant appearance.

However, the moisture-binding properties of glycerin are also used in other areas: As a household helper, antifreeze, lubricant, humectant for foodstuffs or shisha tobacco as well as in liquids for the so-called e-cigarettes. In industry, it is also used in the manufacture of plastics, electronics, and dyes.

 

General health risks: To what extent is glycerin harmful?


Due to its long history of use in the food and cosmetics industry, the general effect of glycerol is based on solid research, which estimates the health risk of the active substance to be very low. Regardless of whether the active ingredient is absorbed through the skin or digestive tract or inhaled, as with the use of glycerol in liquors for e-cigarettes:

From a medical point of view, glycerol is hypoallergenic, non-carcinogenic, does not alter the genetic material and has no negative influence on embryos . Excess glycerine is metabolized relatively effortlessly by the body via so-called beta-oxidation.

Glycerin in cosmetics – the mixture makes it


Glycerin MoistureIn cosmetics, glycerin fulfills two important functions at once: On the one hand, the active ingredient ensures that the moisture in the actual product remains , i.e. that the cream, gel or paste does not dry out. On the other hand, reduces glycerine reduces the skin’s own water loss and thus dehydrates the skin. Several studies have also shown that glycerin has a positive effect on the elasticity of the skin and can counteract irritation caused by other active ingredients. Glycerin also contributes to the preservation of the skin, as it extracts a part of the water required by harmful microorganisms for reproduction. Thus glycerine actively supports other preservatives in their work.

Considering the above-mentioned aspects, it may be obvious why glycerin is used in creams, shampoos and other cosmetic products. Especially with dry skin, it seems to make sense to provide the skin with the necessary help to bind moisture from the outside. The idea of using glycerine in skin care products is basically not wrong, but there is a catch: depending on the humidity of the air, glycerine may lose its moisture-binding properties and, in the worst case, even reverse its positive effects into the negative.

If the air is too dry, the hygroscopic active ingredient draws moisture from the connective tissue and the glycerine dries out the skin instead of protecting it from moisture loss. This can be a problem, especially in winter when the heater is turned up and not properly ventilated.

The decisive factor for the positive or negative glycerin effect is the glycerin content of the product . If this is higher than 10 percent, there is a danger that the active ingredient has a negative effect on the skin and dries it out. This may be accompanied by skin irritations, irritations and the development of pimples. For this reason, glycerine is used in facial care products and is rarely dosed in concentrations above 3 percent. In body or hair care products the glycerine content is on average slightly higher, but mostly between 1 and 5 percent. This is also the case with glycerine in hand cream or glycerine shampoo, for example. Exceptions are also gel-like products, such as gel lotions or gel-like toothpaste. Here, the glycerine content is often around 10 to 20 percent. However, the active ingredient is also particularly hydrated in gels and incorporated into the product matrix.

It should also be borne in mind that glycerol is more of an excipient – the active ingredient alone is not sufficient for care. The effect and quality of a product therefore depends decisively on the recipe . In addition to glycerine, sufficient vegetable oils and an equally sufficient water content should be present to ensure effective care and to exploit the full potential of the glycerine contained.

Homemade Care Products

Homemade care products and the use of glycerin


Due to the easy availability of all required ingredients, creams, lotions, and even shampoo can now be easily made by yourself. The advantage here is that you can choose the ingredients yourself and the active ingredients can be perfectly tailored to your needs. Depending on the quality of the starting products, homemade cream is even cheaper than similar products from the trade. Because with high-quality ingredients the homemade recipes are quite comparable with luxury cosmetics, for which one must pay in the trade often not only because of the quality but also for the brand name.

The basis of cream is ultimately a mixture of water, oils and so-called emulsifiers, including glycerine. Since oil and water usually separate into two phases, emulsifiers ensure that both components can be mixed without problems. The use of glycerine as emulsifier has the advantage that the homemade lotion also benefits immediately from the moisture-binding and preservative properties of the active ingredient. As already mentioned above, both conventional and vegetable glycerine can be harmful to the skin if used in too high a concentration. Who tries himself for the first time at home-made care products, should inform therefore absolutely about suitable prescriptions and adhere exactly to the indicated quantities.

Of course, it is also possible to produce homemade natural cosmetics without glycerine. However, the absence of preservatives has the disadvantage that the products only have a limited shelf life, even if stored properly in the refrigerator. In comparison to glycerine cream, a homemade face cream without glycerine, for example, only has a shelf life of about two weeks.

 

Where to buy glycerine and what to consider when buying?


Buy Glycerin in PharmacyGlycerin can now be purchased in many places: In the drugstore, the pharmacy or a variety of online shops. The most important question here is what glycerine is to be used for and what quality demands are made on the active ingredient.

If, for example, you want to mix creams or other care products yourself, it is advisable to use high-quality pharmaceutical glycerine. Those who also attach importance to an environmentally friendly purchase, prefer Bio Glycerin, have to reckon with higher acquisition costs compared to conventional Glycerin. If you want to buy vegetable glycerine, you should pay attention to the instructions on the production process and the well-known organic seal of approval.

If you like to experiment, you can easily try it yourself and produce glycerine yourself. This is possible for example by heating animal fat and adding lye and salt. Exact step-by-step instructions can be found quickly via a simple web search. If you want to make glycerine yourself, you should keep in mind that the process is relatively complex. In addition, it can be accompanied by unpleasant odors and the risk of caustic burns through the caustic solution. In addition, the end product is retained without final distillation and always smaller impurities – for further use in the cosmetics and food industries, homemade glycerine is therefore generally unsuitable.

 

Active substance in everyday life – What can you do with glycerine?


Glycerin is more than just an important component of cosmetic products. The properties of glycerin are also practical in the household. Glycerin in its pure form, for example, is a tried and tested a household remedy for cleaning windows, spectacle lenses, and mirrors. As trivalent alcohol, glycerol is also ideal for removing stains. A few drops of glycerine in the window cleaning water prevent new dust from adhering too soon, and those who rub a thin layer of glycerine into their freezer compartments and freezers after defrosting ensure that they remain longer without annoying icing. The same applies to car windows on cold winter days. Even leather benefits from the treatment with glycerine, because here the active ingredient unfolds about the same effect as glycerine for the skin: due to its moisture-binding properties, the leather does not dry out and remains soft and supple.

This post is also available in: German

William C. Hilberg
As an author, Mr. Hilberg has published several papers on health issues that have gained international recognition. He is close to nature and loves the seclusion and activity as a freelance journalist. In his function as editor William C. Hilberg manages the entire content of PENP. Our team greatly appreciates his expertise and is proud to have him on board.

Wirkstoff Glycerin – schädlich oder unbedenklich?

Glycerin – ein Wort, dass sich bei vielen Kosmetikprodukten weit vorne in der Liste der Inhaltsstoffe einreiht und daher vielen ein Begriff sein dürfte – auch wenn den meisten gar nicht so richtig klar ist, was sich eigentlich genau hinter diesem Inhaltsstoff verbirgt und wie genau dieser auf den Körper wirkt. Doch ist Glycerin schädlich für die Haut, das Haar und den Organismus oder darf man ganz ohne Bedenken zu glycerinhaltigen Produkten greifen? Und wie genau verhält es sich mit Glycerin in Kosmetik? Diesen und anderen Fragen rund um den Wirkstoff Glycerin möchten wir in folgendem Ratgeber auf den Grund gehen.

Was genau ist Glycerin und wie wird es hergestellt?

Glycerin ist eine körpereigene Substanz, die zu unserem hauteigenen Feuchthaltesystem gehört. Die Frage, ob Glycerin gefährlich für den Körper ist, lässt sich grundsätzlich also erst einmal mit einem „Nein“ beantworten. Tatsächlich ist der Wirkstoff Glycerin insbesondere für unsere Haut unerlässlich: Er bindet Feuchtigkeit, stabilisiert die Hautbarriere und sorgt mitunter dafür, dass keine Schadstoffe in die Haut eindringen. Im Körper wird Glycerin bei der Hydrolyse hauteigener Lipide freigesetzt und gelangt so in die äußere Hautschicht. Chemisch betrachtet gehört Glycerin zu den dreiwertigen Alkoholen und wird aufgrund seines süßlichen Geschmacks oft auch als Zuckeralkohol bezeichnet.

Abseits des körpereigenen Glycerins kann der Wirkstoff auch synthetisch gewonnen werden. Man unterscheidet hier zwischen konventionellem und pflanzlichem Glycerin, wobei Qualität und Umweltbelastung bei der Produktion die Hauptaspekte der Unterscheidung ausmachen:

Konventionelles Glycerin ist in der Regel ein synthetischer Wirkstoff, der bei der Erdölverarbeitung gewonnen wird und in seiner Herstellung somit auch die Umwelt belastet.

Pflanzliches Glycerin entsteht hingegen durch die Spaltung pflanzlicher und tierischer Fette und ist beispielsweise ein Nebenprodukt der Biodieselherstellung. Für die Verwendung in der Kosmetik oder Pharmazie muss das Glycerin jedoch anschließend weiter aufbereitet werden, weshalb das qualitativ hochwertigere, sogenannte Pharma-Glycerin, wesentlich teurer ausfällt, als das konventionell erzeugte Ausgangsprodukt. Zu beachten ist hierbei, dass pflanzliches Glycerin zwar generell umweltfreundlicher ist als synthetisches, allerdings wird pflanzliches Glycerin oft aus Palmöl gewonnen. Das heißt, dass für dessen Gewinnung weitläufige Plantagen angelegt werden, denen zugunsten große Regenwaldflächen weichen müssen.

Darüber hinaus werben vor allem Produkte aus der Naturkosmetik mit der Verwendung von sogenanntem Bio Glycerin. Hierbei handelt es sich um pflanzliches Glycerin aus kontrolliert-biologischer Herkunft, dass unter denselben qualitativen Bedingungen verarbeitet wird, wie das weiter oben erwähnte Pharma-Glycerin. Entsprechend liegt der Preis etwas höher als bei konventionellem oder aus Palmöl gewonnenen, pflanzlichen Glycerin.

Wie wirkt Glycerin und wozu wird es benötigt?

Glycerin ist allem voran ein Feuchtigkeitsbinder. Wie ein Mini-Magnet zieht der Wirkstoff Feuchtigkeit an und hält diese fest. Für unsere Haut ist diese Eigenschaft unverzichtbar, da diese nämlich mindestens 20 Prozent Feuchtigkeit benötigt, um elastisch zu bleiben und ein gesundes, strahlendes Aussehen zu erhalten.

Doch auch in anderen Bereichen findet die feuchtigkeitsbindende Eigenschaft von Glycerin Anwendung: Als Haushaltshelfer, Frostschutzmittel, Schmierstoff, Feuchthaltemittel bei Lebensmitteln oder Shisha-Tabak sowie in Liquiden für die sogenannten E-Zigaretten. In der Industrie wird es außerdem bei der Herstellung von Kunststoffen, Elektronik oder Farbstoffen benötigt.

Generelle Gesundheitsrisiken: Inwiefern ist Glycerin schädlich?

Aufgrund seiner langen Verwendungsgeschichte in der Lebensmittel- und Kosmetikindustrie liegt der allgemeinen Wirkung von Glycerin eine solide Forschung zugrunde, laut derer das Gesundheitsrisiko des Wirkstoffs als sehr gering eingeschätzt wird. Unabhängig davon, ob der Wirkstoff über die Haut oder den Verdauungstrakt aufgenommen oder – wie bei der Verwendung von Glycerin in Liquiden für E-Zigaretten – inhaliert wird:

Aus medizinischer Sicht ist Glycerin hypoallergen, nicht krebserregend, verändert das Erbgut nicht und nimmt auch keinen negativen Einfluss auf Embryonen. Vom Körper wird überschüssiges Glycerin relativ mühelos, über die sogenannte Beta-Oxidation verstoffwechselt.

Glycerin in Kosmetik –  die Mischung macht’s

In der Kosmetik erfüllt Glycerin gleich zwei wichtige Aufgaben: Einerseits sorgt der Wirkstoff dafür, dass die Feuchtigkeit im eigentlichen Produkt erhalten bleibt, sprich, dass die Creme, das Gel oder die Paste nicht austrocknet. Andererseits mindert Glycerin den hauteigenen Wasserverlust und so das Austrocknen der Haut. Mehrere Studien belegen außerdem, dass Glycerin sich positiv auf die Elastizität der Haut auswirkt und der Irritation durch andere Wirkstoffe entgegenwirken kann. Zudem trägt Glycerin auch zur Konservierung bei, da es teilweise schädlichen Mikroorganismen einen Teil des Wassers entzieht, das diese für die Vermehrung benötigen. So unterstützt Glycerin andere Konservierungsstoffe aktiv bei ihrer Arbeit.

Betrachtet man die oben bereits genannten Aspekte, mag es naheliegen, warum Glycerin in Creme, Shampoo und anderen Kosmetikprodukten verwendet wird. Gerade bei trockener Haut scheint es doch durchaus sinnvoll, der Haut die benötigte Hilfestellung zur Bindung von Feuchtigkeit von außen zuzuführen. Die Idee, Glycerin in Pflegeprodukten zu verwenden ist grundsätzlich auch nicht verkehrt, hat aber einen Haken: Je nach Luftfeuchtigkeit verliert Glycerin unter Umständen seine feuchtigkeitsbindenden Eigenschaften und kehrt im schlimmsten Fall seine positiven Effekte sogar ins Negative um.

Ist die Luft zu trocken, zieht der hygroskopische Wirkstoff nämlich die Feuchtigkeit aus dem Bindegewebe und das Glycerin trocknet die Haut aus, anstatt sie vor dem Feuchtigkeitsverlust zu schützen. Dieser Umstand kann besonders im Winter, wenn die Heizung aufgedreht ist und nicht fachgerecht gelüftet wird, zum Problem werden.

Entscheidend für die positive oder negative Glycerin-Wirkung ist hierbei vor allem der Glycerin-Anteil des Produktes. Liegt dieser höher als 10 Prozent, besteht die Gefahr, dass der Wirkstoff sich negativ auf die Haut auswirkt und diese austrocknet. Damit einher gehen dann unter Umständen auch Hautirritationen, Reizungen und das Entstehen von Pickelchen. Aus diesem Grund wird Glycerin in Gesichtspflegeprodukten selten in Konzentrationen über 3 Prozent dosiert. Bei Körper- oder Haarpflegeprodukten liegt der Glycerin-Anteil im Durchschnitt etwas höher, zumeist aber zwischen 1 – 5 Prozent. So verhält es sich beispielsweise auch mit Glycerin in Handcreme oder bei Glycerin Shampoo. Ausnahmen bilden zudem gelartige Produkte, wie beispielsweise Gellotionen oder gelartige Zahnpasta. Hier liegt der Glycerin-Anteil oft bei etwa 10 bis 20 Prozent. Allerdings wird der Wirkstoff in Gelen auch in besonderem Maße hydratisiert und in die Produktmatrix eingearbeitet.

Zu bedenken ist auch, dass Glycerin eher als Hilfsstoff zu verstehen ist – der Wirkstoff allein reicht für die Pflege nämlich nicht aus. Die Wirkung und Qualität eines Produktes hängt somit maßgeblich von der Rezeptur ab. Neben Glycerin sollten beispielsweise ausreichend pflanzliche Öle sowie ein ebenso ausreichender Wasseranteil vorhanden sein, um eine wirksame Pflege zu gewährleisten und das volle Potential des enthaltenen Glycerins auszuschöpfen.

Hausgemachte Pflegeprodukte und die Verwendung von Glycerin

Aufgrund der leichten Verfügbarkeit aller benötigten Bestandteile, kann man Cremes, Lotionen und sogar Shampoo mittlerweile auch ganz einfach selbst herstellen. Der Vorteil hierbei ist, dass man die Inhaltsstoffe selbst wählen und die Wirkstoffe perfekt auf die eigenen Bedürfnisse abstimmen kann. Je nach Qualität der Ausgangsprodukte ist selbstgemachte Creme im Vergleich zu gleichartigen Produkten aus dem Handel sogar kostengünstiger. Denn mit hochwertigen Zutaten sind die hausgemachten Rezepte durchaus vergleichbar mit Luxuskosmetik, für die man im Handel oft nicht nur wegen der Qualität, sondern auch für den Markennamen bezahlen muss.

Die Grundlage einer Creme ist letztlich eine Mischung aus Wasser, Ölen und sogenannten Emulgatoren, zu denen unter anderem Glycerin gehört. Da Öl und Wasser sich für gewöhnlich in zwei Phasen auftrennen, sorgen Emulgatoren dafür, dass beide Komponenten sich ohne Probleme mischen lassen. Die Verwendung von Glycerin als Emulgator hat den Vorteil, dass die hausgemachte Lotion auch gleich von den feuchtigkeitsbindenden und konservierenden Eigenschaften des Wirkstoffs profitiert. Bei der Dosierung ist jedoch Vorsicht geboten, denn wie bereits weiter oben erwähnt, kann sowohl konventionelles als auch pflanzliches Glycerin schädlich für die Haut wirken, sofern es in zu hoher Konzentration verwendet wird. Wer sich das erste Mal an hausgemachten Pflegeprodukten versucht, sollte sich daher unbedingt über passende Rezepte informieren und sich genauestens an die angegebenen Mengenangaben halten.

Natürlich besteht auch die Möglichkeit, hausgemachte Naturkosmetik ohne Glycerin herzustellen. Der Verzicht auf Konservierungsstoffe hat allerdings den Nachteil, dass die Produkte selbst bei fachgerechter Lagerung im Kühlschrank nur eine beschränkte Haltbarkeitsdauer vorzuweisen haben. Im Vergleich zur Glycerin Creme ist eine selbstgemachte Gesichtscreme ohne Glycerin beispielsweise nur etwa zwei Wochen haltbar.

Wo kann man Glycerin kaufen und was ist beim Kauf zu beachten?

Glycerin kann mittlerweile an vielen Stellen erworben werden: In der Drogerie, der Apotheke oder einer Vielzahl von Online-Shops. Wichtig ist hierbei vor allem die Frage, wofür das Glycerin eingesetzt werden soll und welche Qualitätsansprüche an den Wirkstoff gestellt werden.

Wer beispielsweise selbst Cremes oder andere Pflegeprodukte anmischen möchte, für den empfiehlt es sich auf hochwertigeres, pharmazeutisches Glycerin zurückzugreifen. Wer hierbei auch noch Wert auf eine umweltfreundliche Anschaffung legt, bevorzugt Bio Glycerin, muss im Vergleich mit konventionellem Glycerin aber mit höheren Anschaffungskosten rechnen. Möchte man pflanzliches Glycerin kaufen, sollte man dahingehend auf die Hinweise zum Herstellungsverfahren sowie das bekannte Bio-Gütesiegel achten.

Wenn man gerne experimentiert, kann man problemlos einen Selbstversuch wagen und Glycerin selber herstellen. Dies ist beispielsweise über die Erhitzung von Tierfett und die Hinzugabe von Lauge und Salz möglich. Genaue Schritt-für-Schritt Anleitungen sind über eine einfache Websuche schnell gefunden. Wer Glycerin selber machen möchte sollte allerdings bedenken, dass der Prozess relativ aufwändig ist. Zudem kann er von unangenehmen Gerüchen und der Verätzungsgefahr durch die Lauge begleitet werden. Weiterhin gilt, dass das Endprodukt ohne abschließende Destillation immer kleinere Unreinheiten beibehalten wird – für die Weiterverwendung im Kosmetik- und Lebensmittelbereich ist das selbstgemachte Glycerin in der Regel daher ungeeignet.

Wirkstoff im Alltag – Was kann man mit Glycerin machen?

Glycerin ist mehr als nur ein wichtiger Bestandteil von Kosmetikprodukten. Auch im Haushalt erweisen sich die Eigenschaften von Glycerin als praktisch. So ist Glycerin in seiner Reinform beispielsweise ein altbewährtes Hausmittelchen zur Reinigung von Fenstern, Brillengläsern und Spiegeln. Als dreiwertiger Alkohol eignet sich Glycerin außerdem hervorragend zur Entfernung von Flecken. Ein paar Tropfen Glycerin im Fensterputzwasser verhindern, dass sich allzu bald neuer Staub anhaftet und wer seine Gefrierfächer und –truhen nach dem Abtauen mit einer dünnen Schicht Glycerin einreibt stellt sicher, dass diese länger ohne lästige Vereisung verbleiben. Gleiches gilt an kalten Wintertagen für die Autoscheiben. Selbst Leder profitiert von der Behandlung mit Glycerin, denn hier entfaltet der Wirkstoff in etwa denselben Effekt, wie Glycerin für die Haut: Durch seine feuchtigkeitsbindenden Eigenschaften trocknet das Leder nicht aus und bleibt weich und geschmeidig.

If you can't find what you're looking for, you can check our homepage here.

Sitemap